Krugo-Baikalskaya railway is stretched along the southern coast of the lake Baikal for 260 km, from a source of the Angara river up to station Mysovaya. Its western site is especially unique. Circum-Baikal railway is 84 km of a rail way from the port Baikal up to the station Kultuk, 39 tunnels (the general long is 9 063 m), 16 stone galleries, about 400 bridges and viaducts, more than 200 retaining stone walls, tens kilometers of railway embankments.
Its construction was begun in the spring in 1902. The first train has passed in September in 1904. Since the 16th of October in 1905 the site “Slyudyanka-Baikal” was put in operation of Transbaikalian railway Management.
In l982 Circum-Baikal railway was declared as the architecturally-landscape reserve and it was taken under protection of the state.