Zoonmod, Manzhir monastery, Eej Khad, Mother Rock, Bogdkhan Uul, Four Holy Peaks
THE REGIONS OF MONGOLIA
TUV (TOV) AIMAG
MUSEUM OF THE CENTRAL AIMAG
The Museum of the central aimag is located in Zuunmod, administrative
capital-city of the Central Aimag (Tov Aimag), 43 km South of Ulaanbaatar.
The Museum was founded in 1951 and it took its present name in 1991. As
early as 1972, a small branch of the Museum was established on the site of
Manzushir Temple in the aim of
displaying the flora and fauna species living in the surrounding areas. But
the real displays started only in 1992 when the Summer Palace was at the
same time restored on the site.
In 1993, an ethnographical branch was established in
Zuunmod City at only 200 metres from the mother establishment.
THE MOTHER ESTABLISHMENT:
Opening hours (except Tuesday) 9.00-13.00,
Close to the front door of the Museum are a tortoise and another stone figure
belonging to the Turkish period (8th- 6th century B.C.). A stone signpost from
late 19th century and a millstone used in agriculture are also placed there.
The total surface area of exhibition of the Museum is 500 square metres. It is
divided into two main Sections (Nature and History) and six sub-sections, some
of them being gathered in four different halls.
HALL OF GEOGRAPHY:
Totally renovated for its geology and mineralogy section in 1999, this hall
shows more than one hundred samples of rocks and minerals: rock crystals,
quartz, etc . . . and metals (some of them precious or semiprecious).
Another part of this hall deals with medicinal herbs (more than 400 species over
the Tov Aimag) and their repartition (repartition map). The head and ribs of a
Rhinoceros living there 30 million years ago is an eye catching item.
HALL OF GAME
Various exhibits of the natural living species in the area are presented
(1300 samples), including stuffed species of birds, carnivores, ungulates and
reptiles. As well is shown a wild horse foal (species prohibited for hunting).
HALL OF HISTORY
A model of the "Temple of Princess" is displayed, showing this monument as it
was before destruction. The temple is situated in the Baruun Bayan area of the
The visitor can also find here a chain of 80 catties (around 48 kg.) which was
used by the Manchu to punish Mongolians, when they colonised Mongolia for over
220 years. This was one of the nine kinds of Manchu punishments,
HALL OF CONTEMPORARY HISTORY
The main displays deal with:
- The Japanese "Tottori" province having direct relation with the Central
- D. Natsagdorj, founder of the modern Mongolian fictions.
G. Sambuu. statesman of the Central Aimag.
- Mongolian political victims.
THE BRANCH OF ETHNOGRAPHY:
Opening hours (except Tuesday): 10.00-18.00
This branch was opened in 1993, for the 70 anniversary of the creation of the
A total of 500 exhibits can be found here. They include dresses of men and women
living in the Central Aimag with their ornaments, harnesses of animals, various
utensils of local people, tools for animal husbandry, ritual religious items,
specimens of national toys. In addition, visitors can have access to a
pentagonal ger furnished with complex furniture.
Close to the main North opening is a scroll showing - in the form of a
flat-drawing - life of animal farmers and different religious rituals common in
the Mongolian society. The scroll is 24 metres long with a total surface of 62
Also is presented an airag (mare's fermented milk) carved scoop made from a
large larch lump and able to contain 7 litres. It was dedicated to the old
temple of Kherlen at the end of the 19th century.
A fee has to be paid for taking photos and films.
THE BRANCH OF MANZUSHIR TEMPLE:
Opening hours (except Tuesday): 9.00 - 14.00
15.00 - 20.00
This branch is situated 52 km from Ulaanbaatar, in the Zuunmod valley, in
front of Bogd Khan Mountains.
Here, the visitor can find a stone monument of the Turkish period (7th to 6th
century B.C.), a stone roller and a mill stone from 19-20th century and the
largest cauldron made of copper (cubic capacity: 1800 litres- weight: 2 tons-
The Natural History section was established in 1972: it houses different
specimens of stuffed birds. Furthermore, the visitor can enjoy entering a
pentagonal ger with typical exhibits: churner made of argali horns, crupper made
of gazelle skins, etc...
THE MANZUSHIR TEMPLE
While being on the site of the Museum, the visitor can climb the hill up to
the newly built (1993) small typical building next to the ruins of the temple
(destroyed in 1938-40). A fee has to be paid for taking photos and films. If
ordered in advance, there is a possibility for getting snack, beverages and
songs. There is also a souvenir shop.
PAGES OF THE PICTURE ALBUM